Is a Degree Required?

Dominique

Do you think most videographers and film makers have a degree in the field or are most of them self-taught? I don't have a degree, but I am good at learning by myself. Do you think that could be a problem when you want to apply for a full-time job?

Derek

I think a lot of people in this industry are either self taught or have bought some sort of course online. I doubt that all successful graphic designers and videographers have degrees.

Martin Riley

A person might need a photojournalism degree if seeking work in that particular field, but I'd say that's few and far between. I have a degree, but it sure isn't in the creative arts.

Len S

It depends on the job and the company doing the hiring. You can make a living as a videographer without a degree, but probably not as much money had you gotten one.

TruthSeeker

The industry is more focused on skills, so I don't think a degree would be that important. But, the market is tough if you're looking into applying to companies. A degree might be needed, in that case, depending on the qualifications they want.

Silva

I guess some companies are still "old-school" in that sense and they, will probably ask for a degree. It's hard to change the habits of the corporate world. But if you are a freelancer, you definitely don't need a degree!

EyeView

Certificates may suffice now with the multiple online courses available. Obtaining these might help if you're going to go freelance and make a name for yourself. Even practicing your skills might do you better than having a degree since the field is more skill-based.

Terry

I know so many people working in the field and none of them has a degree. And they have clients too. You just need good skills!

Carlhue

I haven't met a client yet who asked where I went to college. (I didn't) This is one of those businesses where the work done speaks to the experience of the photographer, and speaks directly to the customer.

Sweet Takes